Discrimination « Positive »

Si tu déconnes jusqu’au bout faudra jouer les bonnes
Mais y a plus de place pour les rêves
Ici quand on s’élève les rageurs te jettent l’oeil

– NTM-

Oh, how history repeats itself. Eight months ago I was swimming amidst half-printed resumés, piles of rejection letters, fueled by anger, followed by frustration, and resigned to the fact that I was going to live with my parents until the end of my days.

I am happy to say I strategically found my way out of my parents’ house and into another continent. Unfortunately my desperate saga to search for my cataclysm into an awesome career is still happening. The playing field is different, and if the employment dance in America had me frustrated, the French one makes me want to give up, get married, reproduce, and have somebody else maintain me for the rest of my life.

Allright, I am not that desperate… yet.

But job hunting here is much more like getting catapulted into a meat market.  First of all, CVs must include the following information:

  1. Name, Last Name
  2. Birthday
  3. Place of birth
  4. Nationality (ies)
  5. Current marital status
  6. Hobbies and interests (and they WILL ask about them, so be sure you really know about cross-country skiing if you write that down)
  7. What you had for dinner last night and…
  8. A photo of you

Only one of those is partially untrue. HOWEVER, some electronic applications even go as far as asking for the sexual orientation and religion of a person.  There is a complete lack of privacy.

Affirmative Action my arse. The more boxes I check, the more discouraged I feel. To become Someone, you already have to be someone, or at least know a Someone.

~ par gitane sur 13 septembre 2010.

Laisser un commentaire

 
